2017 School Terms

By rights, our kids are not in the age-appropriate school "year", because I don't follow this system.  However, the table is here as my guide when I need it.

In case you're wondering:  In Aotearoa, children are not required to attend a school until the age of six.  We normally apply (and I say normally because it has kind of changed now - you'll see in a second what I mean) for an exemption six weeks prior to a child's sixth birthday.  However, new developments in this area have been made this year, thanks to the National Council of Home Educators New Zealand.  We can now apply when a child is five-years-old, but the exemption still doesn't take effect until the child turns six.

The following is the school terms for 2017.  You will note there are four terms in the New Zealand school system.  However, at R.H.A. we school year-round, therefore we do not follow the dates.  Nevertheless, I like to know when the holidays come around out of interest.

Other holidays

Section 65C of the Education Act 1989 states that every board shall ensure that all schools it administers are closed on Saturdays, Sundays and on the following days:
  • New Year's Day
  • 2 January
  • Waitangi Day
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Easter Tuesday
  • Anzac Day
  • Queen's birthday
  • Labour Day
  • Christmas Day
  • Boxing Day
  • and the day observed in the locality in which the school is situated as anniversary day.
The Department of Labour website has information on dates for current and future New Zealand public holiday and anniversary days.

No comments:

Post a Comment